The healer of Harrow Point

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Hampton Roads Pub. Co.,
Pub. Date:
2000.
Language:
English
Description
Thomas Singer is eleven years old. Soon, on his twelfth birthday, his father will present him with his first shotgun and take him on his first deer hunting trip. Thomas longed to go hunting all his young life, until the day he saw poachers shooting a deer, until the day he meets Emma. That day, as Thomas watched the wounded deer fall, something magical happened: a mysterious old woman suddenly rushed out from among the trees, laid her hands on the graceful animal, and somehow completely healed it. That day his life changed forever. With Emma's guidance, Thomas learns to heal and communicate with animals-forcing him to realize he could never kill one. Now his whole world is turned upside down. He loves his father and doesn't want to disappoint him; in his father's eyes, being a man is to go hunting with men. But his birthday is coming fast, and soon he will have to choose. In the tradition of Where the Red Fern Grows and Old Yeller, The Healer of Harrow Point is a classic coming-of-age story in which a young boy learns the beauty of life, the folly of violence, and the secrets of true friendship.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781571741677
9781612832623
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e9e1b37e-62b4-e9ca-9a7d-e3e8047186ca
Grouping Title healer of harrow point
Grouping Author walpole peter
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-10 01:06:21AM
Last Indexed 2019-03-24 04:14:29AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Walpole, Peter.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Walpole, Peter
available_at_aspen ASD Middle School Lib.
detailed_location_aspen ASD Middle School Lib.
display_description Thomas Singer is eleven years old. Soon, on his twelfth birthday, his father will present him with his first shotgun and take him on his first deer hunting trip. Thomas longed to go hunting all his young life, until the day he saw poachers shooting a deer, until the day he meet Emma. That day, as Thomas watched the wounded deer fall, something magical happened: a mysterious old woman suddenly rushed out from among the trees, laid her hands on the graceful animal, and somehow completely healed it. That day his life changed forever. With Emma's guidance, Thomas learns to heal and communicate with animals forcing him to realize he could never kill one. Now his whole world is turned upside down. He loves his father and doesn't want to disappoint him; in his father's eyes, being a man is to go hunting with men. But his birthday is coming fast, and soon he will have to choose. In the tradition of Where the Red Fern Grows and Old Yeller, The Healer of Harrow Point is a classic coming-of-age story in which a young boy learns the beauty of life, the folly of violence, and the secrets of true friendship.
format_aspen Book
format_category_aspen Books
id e9e1b37e-62b4-e9ca-9a7d-e3e8047186ca
isbn 9781571741677, 9781612832623
item_details hoopla:MWT11767841||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11767841||Available Online||||, ils:.b16768954|.i25903810|ASD Middle School Lib.|FIC WAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||admi||
itype_aspen Book
last_indexed 2019-03-24T10:14:29.926Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aspen FIC WAL
owning_library_aspen Aspen School District
owning_location_aspen ASD Middle School Lib.
primary_isbn 9781571741677
publishDate 2000
record_details hoopla:MWT11767841|eBook|eBook||English|Hampton Roads Publishing,|2000.|1 online resource, ils:.b16768954|Book|Books||English|Hampton Roads Pub. Co.,|2000.|5 unnumbered pages, 131 pages, 3 unnumbered leaves : portrait ; 19 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aspen
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b16768954 .i25903810 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
subject_facet Animal welfare -- Juvenile fiction, Electronic books, Fiction, Healers -- Juvenile fiction, Hunting stories
title_display The healer of Harrow Point
title_full The healer of Harrow Point / Peter Walpole, The healer of Harrow Point [electronic resource] / Peter Walpole
title_short The healer of Harrow Point
topic_facet Animal welfare, Electronic books, Healers, Hunting stories